Opinion Pieces

Seats 240X161px

How going digital can help your business

26.06.14

The tech industry is riding on a wave of optimism, as research shows that investment in new technology is growing at its fastest rate since 2006. Business leaders are focused on growth, rather than on cost reductions and improving business efficiencies. For businesses large and small, this is about expanding into different markets and exploring new opportunities. Businesses are confident and ambitious: 30% of businesses plan to enter new markets in the next 12 months, and 64% within the next two years.

View online →
 
Stars 240X161px

If Hybrid is the Holy Grail of IT, we must look beyond the Clouds

12.05.14

Golf clubs, cars and IT rarely get talked about in the same sentence outside a board meeting, but surprisingly they have one thing in common: they all come in hybrid form. All combine different features to create a single, better product with improved performance. And all are created from designs based on technology innovation.

View online →
 
Straws 240X161px

Spring clean your network: ten key priorities

16.04.14

“Spring brings a boost of energy which we often put to cleaning, but new research shows we can use this energy to improve other areas of our lives too” says Queen of Clean Aggie Mackenzie, of Kim and Aggie fame. She recommends we use this lighter, brighter time of year to chase away the dust and get rid of whatever we don’t use. Her wise words are apt when it comes to our corporate networks. Overloaded, tangled, inefficient networks inhibit business growth, restrict innovation and impact customer satisfaction, but they’re an unfortunate sign of the times:

View online →
 
Pencils 240X161px

10 things you should know about your competition

05.03.14

“Competition is always a fantastic thing” said Bill Gates. His well-documented friendly rivalry with the late Apple founder Steve Jobs changed the way we work and play, creating an exciting market, stimulating innovation and encouraging each business to be better. The thought of a world without Apple or Microsoft is a dreary one, and there is no doubt that the businesses wouldn’t have performed as well or achieved as much without the other to compete against.

View online →
 
Skittles 240X161px

Unify your communications and live happily ever after

13.02.14

What’s not to love about unified communications? Read any article on it and the words invoke a warm fuzziness rarely experienced in the world of telecoms: cohesiveness, sharing, working together and collaboration. Research shows that the number of businesses rolling out a unified communications platform is accelerating at a rate of knots. Indeed ABI Research forecast that the global market for unified communications will reach $2.3 billion by 2016.

View online →
 
Bulbs 240X161

Safer Internet Day 2014 – Making the Internet Better, Together

11.02.14

Remember the first time you experienced the Internet? A few clicks of the mouse, a tuneless dial-up tone, the ear-splitting sound of connectivity, and hey presto! The outside world was brought to our fingertips. It was a pivotal point, whether or not we knew it at the time. Suddenly, the world changed. The digital generation of today is unlikely to experience that ‘Eureka!’ moment, simply because the Internet has always been part of their lives, and with it, the challenges and boundless opportunities it provides.

View online →
 
Abacus 240X161

The new broadband divide - Why our children need Internet access

04.02.14

The teeth-gritting screech of chalk on a blackboard is now confined to dusty archives, and technology in the classroom has evolved in leaps and bounds, enabling a rich, diverse, engaging learning experience for pupils. Schools, though, are only responsible for our children for around six hours a day. Outside of that timeframe, it is largely up to children’s families and carers to pick up the mantle and provide the right environment and tools for learning. The Internet is, or at least should be, one of these tools. Now campaign group Mind the Gap has revealed that one in ten pupils in the UK is being denied access to the Internet at home, giving them a huge disadvantage not just at school but when they come to join the workplace. This figure is shameful. We’re a first world country: for our children, the Internet isn’t a ‘nice to have’, it’s critical.

View online →
 
Bulbs 240X161

Rationalise to Economise

20.11.13

Thoughts are turning to 2014 and the issues that will top the corporate IT agenda. As Mr Osborne claims triumphantly that we are emerging from austerity, the focus for us all will be less on cost-cutting and more on getting our IT estates in order, making the most of what we have and carefully identifying where we need to allocate spend.

View online →
 
Seats 240X161px

All data great and small - the hows and whys of a big data strategy

20.11.13

I’m a numbers man. I like to look at all the data available and make a decision based on fact, not just instinct. And I’m not alone: whether at work or at home, we all like to arm ourselves with information before we make a decision. It’s empowering and reassuring. E-Consultancy’s recent Multichannel Retail Survey found that 90% of consumers research online before buying in-store. We amass vast quantities of data as businesses and as consumers, and we’re constantly hearing about explosions of information, tsunamis of data. According to Ofcom's International Communications Market Report, the average UK mobile connection consumed over 424MB of data – higher even than Japan (392MB) in second place and the United States (319MB).

View online →
 
Bulbs 240X161

Object storage and the cloud

15.11.13

Many of us are not ashamed to admit an obsession with storage solutions, probably the most visited area of a particular Swedish retailer’s website. After all, a tidy house is a tidy mind, as we are told. For the CTO, storage is fast becoming the latest obsession – this time without a flat pack in site. The world’s information is doubling every two years. We’re producing and sharing content at an alarming, explosive rate, in a variety of different formats, across a myriad of different devices. Every minute, YouTube users upload 48 hours of new video, Google receives 2,000,000 search queries and Instagram users share 3,600 new photos.

View online →